Twenty players arrive for Black Stars double header against Sudan

Posted by

Twenty players have arrived in Black Stars camp for the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers against Sudan.

Black Stars manager, CK Akonnor last month handed 23 players call-ups for the double AFCON qualifiers against Sudan.

However, some of these players have failed to honor the call-ups due to injuries, Covid-19 and other issues.

Arsenal new signee Thomas Partey and Real Mallorca midfielder Baba Iddrisu failed to honor the call-ups due to injuries, youngster Benson Annag was ruled out after a contracted Covid-19.

Mubarak Wakaso didn’t make it due to his club’s involvement in the China Super league final, Harrison Afful and Gideon Mensah didn’t make due to bureaucratic reasons, whiles Nuremberg-born Jamie Lewelling rejected the opportunity to play for Ghana.

Meanwhile, 7 other players were handed late call-ups, these players include Andy Yiadom (Reading FC), Majeed Ashimeru (Red Bull Salzburg), Joseph Attamah Larweh (Keyserispor), Afriyie Acquah (Yeni Malatyaspor), Clifford Aboagye (Tijuana FC), Kwadwo Amoako (AshantiGold SC) and Christopher Nettey (Asante Kotoko SC).

Nevertheless, all these players have arrived at the Black Stars camp in Cape Coast, with the exception of Majeed Ashimeru who will miss the first game but is expected to be available for the return encounter in Khartoum.

Ghana will host Sudan today at 16:00 GMT at the Cape Coast stadium, the team will travel to Khartoum for the reverse fixture scheduled to take place on Tuesday, November 17.

Coach Akonnor is seeking to continue with the team’s flying start to the qualifiers following a 2-0 victory against South Africa and a 1-0 victory against Sao Tome and Principe in November 2019.

Ghana currently sit first in Group C with 6 points, victories in the two games against Sudan will secure qualification for 2022’s AFCON in Cameroon.

Check the full list of players available for the games:


Richard Ofori, Lawrence Ati-Zigi, Razak Abalora


John Boye, Baba Abdul Rahman, Kwadwo Amoako, Christopher Nettey, Alexander Djiku, Joseph Aidoo, Joseph Attamah, Nicholas Opoku


Emmanuel Lomotey, Afriyie Acquah, Clifford Aboagye, *Majeed Ashimeru


Jordan Ayew, Andre Ayew, Tariqe Fosu, Samuel Owusu, Caleb Ekuban, John Antwi.

* Expected to arrive

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *