Timo Werner, Marco Reus, Matts Hummels omitted; Mario Gotze returns: Germany final squad for 2022 World Cup

Posted by

Germany have released their final squad for the upcoming World Cup to be played in Qatar.

The 2014 World Champions head into the competition with a balanced squad, including an experienced core, and some of Europe’s most exciting young players.

The squad is headed by Bayern duo Manuel Nueur and Thomas Muller, who are both making their 3rd appearance at the World Cup.

The surprise inclusion is Mario Gotze who scored the winning goal in the 2014 World Cup final and hasn’t played for the German national team since 2017.

There was no place in the team for Leipzig’s Timo Werner, Dortmund’s Marco Reus and wonder kid Florian Wirtz who are all out due to injuries. Decorated defender Matts Hummels is also out due to tactical reasons,

Germany head into the competition hoping to shake off their group stage exit from Russia in 2018.

The Mannschafts will play their opening game against Japan on Wednesday November 23 before facing Spain four days later and then Costa Rica on December 1.

Full squad below;


Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)

Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)


Armel Bella Kotchap (Southampton)

Matthias Ginter (Freiburg)

Christian Gunter (Freiburg)

Thilo Kehrer (West Ham)

Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig)

David Raum (RB Leipzig)

Antonio Rudiger (Real Madrid)

Nico Schlotterbeck (Borussia Dortmund)

Niklas Sule (Borussia Dortmund) 


Julian Brandt (Borussia Dortmund)

Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich)

Mario Gotze (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City)

Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)

Jonas Hoffman (Borussia Monchengladbach) 


Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich)

Karim Adeyemi (Borussia Dortmund)

Kai Havertz (Chelsea)

Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)

Serge Gnabry (Bayern Munich)

Youssoufa Moukoko (Borussia Dortmund)

Leroy Sane (Bayern Munich)

Niclas Fullkrug (Werder Bremen)

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *