Otto Addo reacts to Jeffery Schlupp and Joseph Painstil’s exclusion from Ghana’s final squad for the World Cup

Posted by

Head Coach of the Black Stars has refused to disclose why Crystal Palace’s Jeffery Schlupp and Genk’s Joseph Painstil were excluded from Ghana’s final squad for the Qatar 2022 World Cup.

Otto Addo earlier today announced his final squad for the competition which will kick off on Sunday, November 20, 2022.

Surprisingly, there were no places in the team for Jeffery Schlupp and Joseph Painstil who are currently in fine form for their respective clubs.

Jeffry Schlupp

Explaining the decision, Otto Addo said:” I am a person who’s very much on principles and one principle is that I wouldn’t like to do to anybody what I wouldn’t like then to do to me. So I hope you understand that I wouldn’t like to talk about players who are not in the squad.

“Like I said before, I have reasons on and off the pitch which were well communicated to the players, so it is between me and the player. For me that’s it and they know why they are not in the squad.

“It is very difficult to understand from the outside but it is not good to talk about a player and then the player comes back to say he said this and he said that. We had a talk between men and they know the reason why they are not in the squad, so I’m very sorry I don’t want to go inside that. You know my principles and maybe you want to suggest, but they know why they are not in the squad,” he added.

Joseph Painstil

Ghana’s selected 26-man squad will open camp today in Abu Dhabi-UAE, where they’ll face Switzerland in their final preparatory game for the World Cup on Thursday, November 17, 2022.

The Black Stars have been pitted in Group H of the group stages alongside Portugal, Uruguay and South Korea.

Ghana will start their campaign against Portugal on Thursday, November 24, before playing Uruguay on Monday, November 28 and South Korea on Friday, December 2.

Ghana’s full squad for the World Cup below;

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati Zigi (St. Gallen), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (KAS Eupen), Ibrahim Danlad (Asante Kotoko)

Defenders: Tariq Lamptey (Brighton), Dennis Odoi (Club Brugge), Gideon Mensah (Auxerre), Baba Rahman (Reading), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Mohammed Salisu (Southampton), Alidu Seidu (Clermont Foot)

Midfielders: Thomas Teye Partey (Arsenal FC), Elisha Owusu (Gent), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Andre Ayew (Al Saad), Daniel Kofi Kyereh (Freiburg), Abdul Samed Salis (Lens)

Wingers: Osman Bukari (Red Star Belgrade), Kamaldeen Sulemana (Stade Rennes), Kamal Sowah (Club Brugge), Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Sporting Lisbon)

Strikers: Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Daniel Afriyie (Hearts of Oak), Inaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Antoine Semenyo (Bristol City)

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *