No place for local players, John Antwi, Alexander Djiku, Lomotey, Kamal Deen earn callups: CK Akonnor names 23 man squad for Mali friendly

Posted by

Black Stars Head Coach, C.K Akonnor has announced a 23-man squad for next month’s friendly game against Mali.

Ghana, who has been without a competitive game since November 2019 will play the Eagles of Mali on October 09, in Antalya, Turkey as part of the team’s preparations for the AFCON qualifier against Sudan.

Ghana were scheduled to play Equatorial Guinea three days later, but the Central African country, late Thursday, pulled out of the game, citing new travel restrictions imposed in their country. Equatorial Guinea’s borders are closed, and flights are suspended due to new COVID-19 rules.

Coach C.K Akonnor has handed debut call ups to France based Alexander Djiku who plays for Strasbourg, Yakubu Mohammed of Azam FC in Tanzania, Benson Anang of MSK Zilina in Slovakia, Emmanuel Lomotey of Amiens in France and youngster Kamal Deen who plays for Danish side Nordsjaelland. Pyramid FC’s John Antwi has also been handed a call up by the Ghana Coach.

Turkey based Bernard Mensah makes a return to the team for the first time in five years. The game will come in handy for C.K Akonnor who is yet to play his first game since he was appointed new Coach of the Black Stars in February this year.

Ghana top Group F with 6 points following victories against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe in November 2019

Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United), Lawrence Ati Zigi (FC St Gallen), Razak Abalora (Unattached).

Benson Annan (MSK Zilina), Lumor Agbeyenu ( Sporting Club Lisboa), Yakubu Mohammed (Azam FC), Gideon Mensah (Vitoria Guimaraes), Alexander Djiku (RC Strasbourg), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens SC), Kassim Nuhu Adams (TSG Hoffenheim), Jeffery Schlupp (Crystal Palace)

Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens SC), Bernard Mensah (Besiktas), Baba Idrissu (RCD Mallorca),

Andre Ayew (Swansea FC), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), John Antwi (Pyramids FC), Eugene Ansah (Kiryat Shmona), Kamal Deen Sulemana (FC Nordsjaelland), Mohammed Kudus (AFC Ajax)

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *