JUST IN: Chris Hughton announces Ghana’s squad for Madagascar AFCON qualifier

Posted by

Head Coach of the Black Stars Chris Hughton has named his squad for next month’s Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) Group E qualifier against Madagascar.

The former Brighton and Newcastle United boss has settled on 24 players for the trip to Antananarivo on Sunday, June 18, 2023.

In the squad are regular faces Andre Ayew, Thomas Partey, Mohammed Kudus, Jordan Ayew, Daniel Amartey, Alexander Djiku, Kamaldeen Sulemana, Osman Bukari and so on.

Also in the squad are Alidu Seidu and Kwasi Okyere Wreidt who make a return to the team, while Denmark based Ernest Nuamah has been handed his maiden call-up after impressing with Nordsjaelland in the Danish topflight league.

The likes of Daniel-Kofi Kyereh, Baba Rahman, Elisha Owusu, Mohammed Salisu, Tariq Lamptey and Antoine Semenyo didn’t make the squad due to injuries.

Ghana head into the game to be played at the Stade Kianja Barea in Antananarivo on Sunday, June 18, 2023 needing a win to secure a place at the AFCON scheduled for January and February next year in Cote D’Ivoire.

The Black Stars after four games in the qualifiers sit top of Group E with 8 points, followed by Central Africa Republic with 7 points, Angola with 5 points and Madagascar with a point.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati-Zigi (St. Gallen), Joseph Wollacott (Charlton Athletic), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (KAS Eupen)

Defenders: Denis Odoi (Club Brugge), Alidu Seidu (Clermont Foot), Gideon Mensah (Auxerre), Patrick Kpozo (Sheriff Tiraspol), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens)

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Majeed Ashimeru (Anderlecht), Salis Abdul Samed (Lens), Edmund Addo (Spartak Subotica)

Wingers: Joseph Painstil (Genk), Osman Bukari (Red Star Belgrade), KamalDeen Sulemana (Southampton), Ernest Nuamah (FC Nordsjaelland)

Attackers: Andre Ayew (Nottingham Forest), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Inaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Kwasi Okyere Wriedt (Holstein Kiel).

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *