JUST IN: CAS annuls all sanctions imposed on 22 of 26 players banned by the Ghana FA for involvement in match-fixing

Posted by

The Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS) has annulled all sanctions imposed on players involved in an alleged match-fixing by the Ghana Football Association (GFA) in 2021.

A total of 26 players were slapped with respective bans by the Disciplinary Committee (DC) of GFA after they were found guilty of match manipulation in the final game of the 2020/21 season which ended 7-0 in favor of AshantiGold.

Following the ban, the Professional Football Association of Ghana (PFAG) filed an appeal to CAS through the International Federation of Professional Footballers (FIFPro) to overturn the decision on behalf of 21 players.

Another appeal was filed by Asante Kotoko on behalf of their midfielder Richimond Lamptey.

The appeals succeeded as CAS in August 2022 announced a decision to temporary lift the ban on the players.

In the latest development, CAS has annulled all sanctions imposed on all 22 players.

The players include; Alex Aso, Felix Abuska, Mohammed Zakari, Shaibu Taufiq, Fard Ibrahim, Richard Acquaah, Eric Esso, Amos Kofi Nkrumah, Stephen Owusu Banahene, Kwame Moses, Empem Dacosta, Frank Akoto.

Others are Isaac Opoku Agyemang, Solomon Afriyie, Mohammed Bailou, Emmanuel Owusu, Samed Mohammed, Paul Asare de Vries, Amos Addai, Abdul Kadir Mohammed, Isah Ali and Richmond Lamptey.

The Ghana FA is ordered to pay to a global amount of 6,300 Swiss francs (82,089.35 Ghanaian Cedi), to be distributed in equal parts of 300 Swiss francs (3909.02 Ghanaian Cedi) to 21 of the players as contribution towards their legal fees and other expenses incurred in connection with the tribunal proceedings.

GFA is as well ordered to pay to Mr. Richmond Lamptey the amount of 3,000 Swiss francs (39090.17 Ghanaian Cedi) as contribution towards his legal fees and other expenses incurred in connection with these arbitration proceedings.

All other and further claims or prayers for relief were dismissed.

Meanwhile, the four players who did not benefit from the verdict include; Hashmin Musah, Seth Osei, Danso Wiredu Mensah and Nigerian forward Andy Opke.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *