GFA set date and venue for Division One Zone One League playoff

Posted by

The Ghana Football Association has set Tuesday, May 30 as date for the Division One League Championship playoff to determine which team qualifies to the Premier League from Zone One.

The playoff which will take place at the Accra Sports stadium will be between winners of Zone One A and Zone One B of the ongoing Access Bank Division One League.

Techiman Eleven Wonders, Debibi United and Steadfast FC are fighting tooth and nail for the top spot in Zone One while Tano Bofoakwa have already secured a place in the final after topping Zone One B.

With two games to end the season, Techiman Eleven Wonders are top of the Zone One A table with 47 points, 3 more points than second placed Stedfast and 4 more points than third placed Debibi United.

Eleven Wonders will need just a win in their final two games against Wa Suntaa and Kumbungu Binbiem FC to secure a place in the playoff, while Debibi United and Steadfast FC will need to win their remaining games and hope Eleven Wonders slip up.

The winner of the playoff will secure promotion to the Premier League and will join Aduana FC, Berekum Chelsea, Bechem United, Real Tamale United, Tamale City and Nsoatreman FC as teams from Zone One in the betPawa Premier League.

Zone One of the Division One League was split into two zones due to lack of resources in the Zone especially the three Northern Regions and the seeming tension and violence that have characterized the Zone in the last couple of seasons.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *