GFA ELECTIONS: Kurt Okraku and George Afriyie vie for presidential position; Randy Abbey, Alhaji Akambi, Kwasi Appiah and others battle for ExCO positions: GFA release list of nominees

Posted by

The Elections Committee of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) has released the list of persons who have submitted their nomination forms to contest for the various positions in the upcoming GFA elections.

The various positions for the released list include; the GFA Presidential position, the Executive Council positions and the Regional FA Chairmen positions.

Current GFA President, Kurt Edwin Simeon-Okraku has availed himself for re-election and will be contested by erstwhile GFA President George Kwasi Afriyie.

A total of sixteen (16) football administrators have submitted forms to compete for Premier League and Division One League slots on the Executive Council of the Ghana FA.

The Premier League and Division One League holds eight (8) slots at the Executive council, with five (5) of those slots reserved for the Premier League and three (3) for the Division One League.

Eleven (11) football administrators have submitted their nominations forms to contest for the 5 slots available for the Premier League on the Executive council.

The contestants include; Dr. Randy Abbey (Heart of Lions), Frederick Acheampong (Dreams FC), Kwabena Asenso (Legon Cities), Kwasi Appiah (Asante Kotoko), Alhaji Akambi (Hearts of Oak) and Dr. Tony Augbynn (Medeama SC).

Others are: Kingsley Osei Bonsu (Bechem United), Nana Oduro Sarfo (Berekum Chelsea), Edmund Ackah (FC Samartex), Raphael Gyambrah (Nsoatreman FC) and Elloeny Amande (Karela United).

Five (5) have also submitted their nominations forms to contest for the 3 slots available for Division One clubs on the Executive council.

They include; Current GFA vice president, Mark Addo, Samuel Addo Anim, Eugene Nobel Nii Amon Noel, Gideon Ofosu and Alexander Ababio.

Also, Gifty Afia Oware-Mensah, the bankroller of Women’s Premier League side, Berry Ladies has scooped the single Executive slot for the Women’s league after going unopposed.

For Regional FA Chairman positions, incumbents Samuel Aboabire ‘Kattar’, Robert Otieku Duncan, Simon Ehomah, Daniel Agbogah, Salifu Shaibu Zida and so on have all submitted nomination forms to seek re-election in their respective regions.

The Election Committee will now review the received nomination forms from all persons who have submitted nomination forms before fixing time and venue for vetting as per the roadmap.

Meanwhile, the GFA Presidential election and the Executive Council elections is scheduled for Wednesday, September 27, 2023 at the Radach Memorial Hotel in Tamale, while the RFA Chairman elections is scheduled for Friday, September 29, 2023.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *