EXPLAINED: Why Ecuador’s goal was ruled out against Qatar

Posted by

Ecuador were left disappointed when they were denied an early goal in the opening game of the 2022 World Cup against host nation Qatar.

The South Americans thought they had taken the lead when Enner Valencia from close range planted an overhead kick from Felix Torres into the net following a terrible mistake by goalkeeper Al Sheeb, failing to punch a simple cross into the box away from danger.

However, celebrations were cut short when the goal was disallowed after a check by the Video Assistant Referee (VAR). The decision seem controversial as there didn’t appear to be a lot wrong with the goal.

Replays indicated that the goal was ruled out because of an offside before the assist to Valencia was made by Felix Torres. It appeared that Ecuador’s Michael Estrada was narrowly offside when the ball was initially lofted into the penalty area, with his foot pictured just beyond the last man.

Ecuador didn’t let the decision bog them down as they went on to score two goals before the halftime break. Both goals were scored by Enner Valencia, with the first goal coming from a spot-kick.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *