CAS ‘temporarily’ lifts ban on 21 players involved AshantiGold vs Inter Allies match fixing scandal

Posted by

The Court of Arbitration of Sports (CAS) has temporarily lifted a ban imposed on 21 players for their involvement in match manipulation in the final game of the 2020/21 Ghana Premier League season.

A total of 26 players were slapped with respective bans by the Disciplinary Committee (DC) of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) after they were found guilty in a game between Inter Allies and AshantiGold.

The game between the two sides at the Len Clay Sports Stadium ended 7-0, with Hashmin Musah, a former Allies player scoring two own goals on purpose, later admitting it was to sabotage a bet on the game.

Following investigations, 26 players were found guilty of participating in the scandal, a breach to Article 34(6)(d) of the GFA Premier league regulations, 2019 and Article 26(1) & (2) of the GFA Code of Ethics, 2019.

The players were slapped with respective bans, with some receiving up to 48 months ban.

Following the ban, the Professional Football Association of Ghana (PFAG) appealed to CAS through the International Federation of Professional Footballers (FIFPro) to overturn the decision.

In the latest development, CAS has temporary lifted the ban on 21 players who PFAG listed in their appealed. The players can now proceed to register for the upcoming season pending the final determination of the appeal filed by FIFPro.

The players include; Alex Aso, Felix Abuska, Mohammed Zakari, Shaibu Taufiq, Fard Ibrahim, Richard Acquaah, Eric Esso, Amos Kofi Nkrumah, Stephen Owusu Banahene, Kwame Moses, Empem Dacosta, Frank Akoto.

Others are Isaac Opoku Agyemang, Solomon Afriyie, Mohammed Bailou, Emmanuel Owusu, Samed Mohammed, Paul Asare de Vries, Amos Addai, Abdul Kadir Mohammed and Isah Ali.

Meanwhile, Richmond Lamptey is excluded from this directive as the Asante Kotoko midfielder was not part of the 21 players listed by FIFPro in their appeal.

The other players who were not listed in the appeal are Seth Osei, Andy Opke, Danso Wiredu Mensah and Hashmin Musah.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *