Cameroon announce 26-man squad for 2022 World Cup

Posted by

Cameroon head coach Rigobert Song has announced his 26-man squad for the upcoming FIFA WorldCup in Qatar.

Vincent Aboubakar will lead the Indomitable Lions in what will be his 3rd World Cup and his country’s 8th, a record by an African country.

The Indomitable Lions have failed to make an impression at the global show piece event since reaching the Quarterfinals of the 1990 edition played in Italy.

In their last 5 appearances at the competition which ranges back to 1994, Cameroon have played 15 games in the competition, winning only a game, one which came in 2002 against Saudi Arabia.

The Indomitable lions are hoping to improve that run in this year’s edition and Vincent Abubakar who was top scorer in the African Cup of Nations played on home soil earlier this year has been tasked to lead the team.

Other big names on the list include Andre Onana, Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Karl Toko Ekambi, Andre-Franck Zambo-Anguissa and Bryan Mbeumo, who all ply their trade for top-tier clubs in Europe.

Also in the list are two home-based players, Souaibou Marou and Jerome Ngom who won their first caps just yesterday in a friendly against Jamaica.

Long-serving centre back Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui was surprisingly omitted from the squad.

Cameroon find themselves in Group G of the World Cup with Switzerland, Serbia and five-time champions Brazil.

Below is the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Devis Epassy (Abha Club), Simon Ngapandouetnbu (Marseille), Andre Onana (Inter Milan)

Defenders: Jean-Charles Castelletto (Nantes), Enzo Ebosse (Udinese), Collins Fai (Al Tai), Olivier Mbaizo (Philadelphia Union), Nicolas Nkoulou (Aris Salonika), Tolo Nouhou (Seattle Sounders), Christopher Wooh (Stade Rennes)

Midfielders: Martin Hongla (Verona), Pierre Kunde (Olympiakos), Olivier Ntcham (Swansea City), Gael Ondoua (Hannover 96), Samuel Oum Gouet (Mechelen), Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Napoli)

Forwards: Vincent Aboubakar (Al Nassr), Christian Bassogog (Shanghai Shenhua), Eric-Maxime Choupo Moting (Bayern Munich), Souaibou Marou (Coton Sport), Bryan Mbeumo (Brentford), Nicolas Moumi Ngamaleu (Young Boys Berne), Jerome Ngom (Colombe Dja), Georges-Kevin Nkoudou (Besiktas), Jean-Pierre Nsame (Young Boys Berne), Karl Toko Ekambi (Olympique Lyonnais)

Spread the love

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *