BREAKING NEWS: CAS temporarily lifts 30-month ban on Richmond Lamptey for his involvement in match fixing

Posted by

Kumasi Asante Kotoko has announced that the ban imposed on midfielder Richmond Lamptey has been lifted after an appeal at the Court of Arbitration of Sports (CAS).

Richmond Lamptey was amongst 26 players slapped with a ban by the Disciplinary Committee (DC) of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) after they were found guilty of match fixing in a game between Inter Allies and AshantiGold.

The game between the two sides at the Len Clay Sports Stadium ended 7-0, with Hashmin Musah, a former Allies player scoring two own goals on purpose, later admitting it was to sabotage a bet on the game.

Following investigations, Richmond Lamptey and 25 other players were found guilty of participating in the scandal, a breach to Article 34(6)(d) of the GFA Premier league regulations, 2019 and Article 26(1) & (2) of the GFA Code of Ethics, 2019.

Lamptey was slapped with a 30-month ban, while the remaining 25 players were slapped with respective bans, with some receiving up to 48 months ban.

Following the ban, Asante Kotoko last month made a appeal to CAS. In the latest development, CAS has temporary lifted the ban on Richmond Lamptey.

“This afternoon, the club through our lawyer Nilo Effori have secured a ruling from CAS granting Richmond Lamptey provisional measures (Stay of Execution) against the decision of the GFA Appeals Committee meaning Lamptey is free to continue his career,” Asante Kotoko announced on Twitter.

The latest development means Richmond Lamptey can feature for Asante Kotoko in the upcoming season, pending the final determination of the appeal filed by the club.

Meanwhile, the ban on 21 other players has also been temporary lifted after an appeal by the Professional Football Association of Ghana (PFAG) through the International Federation of Professional Footballers (FIFPro).

The players include; Alex Aso, Felix Abuska, Mohammed Zakari, Shaibu Taufiq, Fard Ibrahim, Richard Acquaah, Eric Esso, Amos Kofi Nkrumah, Stephen Owusu Banahene, Kwame Moses, Empem Dacosta, Frank Akoto.

Others are Isaac Opoku Agyemang, Solomon Afriyie, Mohammed Bailou, Emmanuel Owusu, Samed Mohammed, Paul Asare de Vries, Amos Addai, Abdul Kadir Mohammed and Isah Ali.

The other players who were not listed in the appeal are Seth Osei, Andy Opke, Danso Wiredu Mensah and Hashmin Musah.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *