Black Stars to open camp today for Madagascar AFCON qualifier

Posted by

Ghana’s senior national team, the Black Stars will open camp Today, Monday, June 12, 2023 in Accra for the 2023 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers against Madagascar.

The Black Stars are billed to play Madagascar in the five qualifying round of the AFCON to be played in Cote D’Ivoire in January and February next year.

Twenty five (25) players have been invited for the game by the Head Coach of the team, Chris Hughton.

All the 25 players are expected to honor the call-up, with a number of them expected to report to camp in Accra by the close of today.

Kasim Nuhu Adams, Ransford-Yeboah Königsdörffer and Hafiz Konkoni who were all handed late call-ups due to varied reasons are also expected to report to camp.

The team is expected to hold its first training today at the Accra Sports Stadium as preparations get underway for the AFCON qualifiers against Madagascar.

Ghana head into the game to be played at the Stade Kianja Barea in Antananarivo on Sunday, June 18, 2023 needing a win to secure a place at the AFCON in Cote D’Ivoire.

The Black Stars after four games in the qualifiers sit top of Group E with 8 points, followed by Central Africa Republic with 7 points, Angola with 5 points and Madagascar with a point.

List of invited players:

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati-Zigi (St. Gallen), Joseph Wollacott (Charlton Athletic), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (KAS Eupen)

Defenders: Denis Odoi (Club Brugge), Alidu Seidu (Clermont Foot), Gideon Mensah (Auxerre), Patrick Kpozo (Sheriff Tiraspol), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Kasim Nuhu Adams (FC Basel), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens)

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Majeed Ashimeru (Anderlecht), Salis Abdul Samed (Lens), Edmund Addo (Spartak Subotica)

Wingers: Joseph Painstil (Genk), Osman Bukari (Red Star Belgrade), KamalDeen Sulemana (Southampton), Ernest Nuamah (FC Nordsjaelland)

Attackers: Andre Ayew (Nottingham Forest), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Ransford-Yeboah Königsdörffer (Hamburg), Kwasi Okyere Wriedt (Holstein Kiel), Hafiz Konkoni (Bechem United)

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *