André Ayew and Ofori ruled out, Fatau Dauda handed call-up, Ashimeru, Wakaso & Schlupp joins team: Check out Ghana’s squad for Sudan encounter

Posted by

Black Stars manager CK Akonnor has named a strong team for Ghana’s African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Sudan.

The Black Stars on Thursday defeated Sudan 2-0 at the Cape Coast stadium, André Ayew grabbed both goals. The two sides will meet again on Tuesday in Omdurman.

Ghana will go into the game without André Ayew, the Black Stars skipper was ruled out of the game due to injury.

The Swansea City midfielder suffered a muscle strain at the team’s training session on Saturday, ruling him out of the squad for the trip.

According to reports, Kotoko goalkeeper Razak Abalora and Turkey based Joseph Attamah Laweh have tested positive for Covid-19, ruling them out of the game. The duo are currently in self isolation and receiving treatment.

Richard Ofori has also been ruled out of the game due to the accumulation of numerous yellow cards.

Meanwhile, Red Bull Salzburg midfielder Majeed Ashimeru, Crystal Palace’s Jefferey Schlupp and Mubarak Wakaso have joined the team for the game in Omdurman.

Legon Cities shot stopper Fatau Dauda has also been handed a call-up. He makes a return to the national team after 3 years of being away.

The senior national team left Accra on Sunday morning to Sudan for the second leg tie which will be played in Omdurman on Tuesday.

With all three skippers ruled out of the game, CK Akonnor is expected to name one of John Boye, Mubarak Wakaso and Jordan Ayew as skipper for game.

Ghana currently sit top of the group with 9 points, a win in Omdurman on Tuesday will secure Ghana a place in the 2022 AFCON.

Check the full list of players available for the games: 


Lawrence Ati-Zigi, Fatau Dauda


John Boye, Baba Abdul Rahman, Kwadwo Amoako, Christopher Nettey, Alexander Djiku, Joseph Aidoo, Nicholas Opoku


Emmanuel Lomotey, Afriyie Acquah, Clifford Aboagye, Majeed Ashimeru, Mubarak Wakaso


Jordan Ayew, Tariqe Fosu, Samuel Owusu, Caleb Ekuban, John Antwi, Jeffery Schlupp.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *