2023 U-23 AFCON: Emmanuel Yeboah surprisingly misses out as CAF names best eleven of the group stages

Posted by

Ghana’s Emmanuel Yeboah has missed out on a place in the best eleven of the group stages of the 2023 TotalEnergies U-23 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) currently taking place in Morocco.

The Black Meteors bowed out of the group stages of the U-23 AFCON after collecting 4 points from their 3 group stage games. Ghana won 3-2 in the first game, lost 5-1 to Morocco in the second game and drew 1-1 in the final group game against Guinea.

In spite of the Black Meteors’ poor form, Yeboah glittered. The CFR Cluj forward finished the group stages with 3 goals, a recorded equaled by Morocco’s skipper Abdessamad Ezzalzouli.

However, that wasn’t enough to earn him a place in the best eleven of the competition which was released by the competition’s Technical Study Group on Monday,

Table toppers in Group A and Group B, Morocco and Egypt dominated the team with four players each, while Mali is represented by three players.

Egypt’s Hamza Hussein, who demonstrated impeccable form by keeping a clean sheet in all three matches claims the top spot as the outstanding goalkeeper.

In defence, Morocco’s Mehdi Boukamir, Abdelsalam from Egypt and Malian duo of Fode Doucoure and Ibrahima Cisse were selected in defense.

Mali’s Cheickna Diakite joins forces with Ismael Saibari from Morocco and Ibrahim Mohamed from Egypt to form a formidable midfield trio.

Completing the lineup, Egypt’s Osama Abdelhady, Yanis Begraoui from Morocco, Cheickna Diakite from Mali, and Abdessamad Ezzalzouli from Morocco form an exceptional attacking force.

Morocco’s Issam Charai receives accolades as the Best Coach for guiding his team to three victories, showcasing attacking prowess while maintaining defensive awareness

The Best XI:


Issam Charai – Morocco


Hamza Hussein – Egypt


Mehdi Boukamir – Morocco, Hossam Abdelsalam – Egypt, Ibrahima Cisse – Mali, Fode Doucoure – Mali


Ismael Saibari – Morocco, Ibrahim Mohamed – Egypt, Cheickna Diakite – Mali


Osama Abdelhady – Egypt, Yanis Begraoui – Morocco, Abdessamad Ezzalzouli – Morocco

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *