2023 ELECTIONS: Kurt Okraku, Samuel Aboabire to go unopposed; George Afriyie, Alhaji Akambi disqualified: GFA release official list of candidates

Posted by

The Ghana Football Association (GFA) Elections Committee has announced the official list of candidates for the 2023 GFA Elections

The various positions for the released list include; the GFA Presidential position, the Executive Council positions and the Regional FA Chairmen positions.

Current GFA President, Kurt Edwin Simeon-Okraku is the sole person vying for the Presidential seat. This came in after erstwhile vice president of GFA, George Afriyie was disqualified.

George Afriyie was disqualified by the Elections Committee of GFA for breaching Article 13 (2) (j) of the Ghana Football Association Statutes, 2019 and also failure to provide the required number of Ghana Football Association Members to support your candidature.

The Susubiribi bankroller appealed the decision at the Appeals Committee. However, the appeal was thrown out, endorsing the decision by the Elections Committee.

A total of sixteen (15) football administrators will contest for the Premier League and Division One League slots on the Executive Council of the Ghana FA.

The Premier League and Division One League holds eight (8) slots at the Executive council, with five (5) of those slots reserved for the Premier League and three (3) for the Division One League.

Ten (10) football administrators will contest for the 5 slots available for the Premier League on the Executive council. Hearts of Oak’s Alhaji Akambi was disqualified after failing to reach the requirements for contesting in the top position.

The 10 contestants include; Dr. Randy Abbey (Heart of Lions), Frederick Acheampong (Dreams FC), Kwabena Asenso (Legon Cities), Kwasi Appiah (Asante Kotoko) and Dr. Tony Augbynn (Medeama SC).

Others are: Kingsley Osei Bonsu (Bechem United), Nana Oduro Sarfo (Berekum Chelsea), Edmund Ackah (FC Samartex), Raphael Gyambrah (Nsoatreman FC) and Elloeny Amande (Karela United).

All five (5) persons who picked forms to contest for the 3 slots available for Division One clubs on the Executive council have met requirements and have successfully underwent vetting.

They include; Current GFA vice president, Mark Addo, Samuel Addo Anim, Eugene Nobel Nii Amon Noel, Gideon Ofosu and Alexander Ababio.

Also, Gifty Afia Oware-Mensah, the bankroller of Women’s Premier League side, Berry Ladies has scooped the single Executive slot for the Women’s league after going unopposed.

For Regional FA Chairman positions, incumbents Samuel Aboabire ‘Kattar’, Simon Ehomah, Daniel Agbogah, Linford Boadu Asamoah, Mahamadu Abu-Hassan, Yahaya Sadugu Daudi and Agyemang Osei Tutu will go unopposed.

Incumbent, Robert Otieku Duncan and bankroller of Chetaah, Abdul Hayye Yartey will compete for the Central Region FA position, Shaibu Salifu and Abel Alonort Asoogo will compete for the Upper East FA position, while Dickson Kyere-Duah, Dr Charles Osei Antoh and Meshack Asante Ameyaw will compete for the Ashanti Region FA position.

Meanwhile, Alhaji Grusah’s Court Injunction on GFA Elections scheduled for Wednesday, September 27, 2023 in Tamale has been adjourned to Thursday, September 28. 2023.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *