2023 Division One League Super Cup: Which teams will be involved in? When and where will it be held? And many more

Posted by

All roads leads to the third and the 2023 edition of the Division One League Super Cup.

What’s the Division One Super Cup?

The Division One Super Cup was created by the Ghana Football Association (GFA) in 2021.

The Super Cup is for winners of each zone, second placed teams in each zone and two of the third best placed teams at the end of the season.

The reason for the competition is to give clubs more games outside the League by adding to the limited number of games that are played in the course of the season and as well serve as a preparatory ground for the clubs ahead of a new season.

History/Past winners

The first edition was won by Zone Two side Skyy after beating Tema Youth on penalties. Liberty Professionals won the second edition, beating Nsoatreman 1-0.

2021: Skyy FC
2022: Liberty Professionals
2023: ?

Which teams will participate this season?

  • Eleven Wonders (Winners of Zone One A)
  • Bofoakwa Tano (Winners of Zone One B)
  • Young Apostles (Best second placed in Zone One A and B)
  • Nations FC (Winners of Zone Two)
  • Skyy FC (Second placed in Zone Two)
  • Nzema Kotoko (Third placed in Zone Two)
  • Heart of Lions (Winners of Zone Three)
  • Koforidua Semper FI (Second placed in Zone Three)

Where and when is the competition?

This year’s edition will kickoff in the opening week of August and will climax on the Sunday, August 13, 2023 at the Dr. Kwame Kyei Sports Complex in Abrankese.

Prize Money

The prize money for this year’s edition of the Division One League Super Cup hasn’t official been revealed by the Ghana FA.

However in the first edition and second edition of the competition, winners received GHC 15,000 and 30 gold medals. Second placed teams received GHC 8,000 and 30 silver medals, while third placed teams received GHC 5,000 and 30 bronze medals.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *