2023 CHAN Qualifiers: Black Galaxies’ trip to Benin rescheduled to Friday; 25 players expected to travel

Posted by

The Black Galaxies’ trip to Benin for the second leg of the first round of the 2023 TotalEnergies African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifiers against Benin has been rescheduled.

The team was initially scheduled to fly out of Ghana earlier today, Thursday, July 26. However, the departure date has been rescheduled to tomorrow, Friday, July 27 due to reasons not revealed.

The team will fly out of Ghana in the morning with a Chartered flight for the second leg scheduled for Saturday, July 30 at Stade Charles De Gaulles in Porto Novo at 4:00 pm.

Twenty five (25) players will make the trip to Porto Novo. New Edubiase forward Isaac Mintah will not make the trip due to problems with his traveling documents.

Ghana won the first leg of the qualifier 3-0 at the Cape Coast Stadium on Sunday, courtesy goals from Hearts of Oak trio Daniel Afriyie Barnieh, Mohammed Alhassan and skipper Gladson Awako.

The Black Galaxies will be hoping to avoid losing by more than three goals in order to secure a place in the second round against bitterest rivals Nigeria.

The winner of the game will secure a place at the CHAN to be played in Algeria in 2003.

Ghana has failed to make the last three editions of the CHAN, losing to Burkina Faso in the last two editions.

Below is the Black Galaxies squad expected to make the trip to Benin:


  1. Abdulai Iddrisu – Bechem United
  2. Danlad Ibrahim – Asante Kotoko
  3. Stephen Kwaku – Great Olympics


  1. Augustine Randolph – Karela United
  2. Michael Ampadu- Legon Cities


  1. Dennis Korsah – Hearts of Oak
  2. Imoro Ibrahim – Asante Kotoko
  3. Emmanuel Adu-Siaw – Samartex FC


  1. Konadu Yiadom – WAFA
  2. Mohammed Alhassan – Hearts of Oak
  3. Samuel Osei Kuffuor – Bechem United
  4. Vincent Atinga – Medeama SC
  5. Henry Ainsu – Berekum Chelsea
  6. Maxwell Arthur – Dreams FC


  1. Dominic Nsobila – Accra Lions
  2. Kasim Razak- Great Olympics


  1. Suraj Seidu – Hearts of Oak
  2. Gladson Awako – Hearts of Oak
  3. Umar Bashiru – Karela United
  4. David Abagna – Real Tamale United (RTU)


  1. Jonas Attuquaye – Legon Cities
  2. Evans Osei Owusu- Tema Youth


  1. Maxwell Abbey Quaye – Great Olympics
  2. Daniel Afriyie Barnieh – Hearts of Oak
  3. Agyenim Boateng Mensah- Dreams FC
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *