2023 AFCON Qualifiers: Chris Hughton names squad for Central African Republic clash

Posted by

Head Coach of the Black Stars, Chris Hughton has named his squad for the final African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Central African Republic in Kumasi.

In the squad are the likes of skipper Andre Ayew, Mohammed Kudus, Alexander Djiku, Lawrence Ati-Zigi, Joseph Aidoo, Baba Rahman, Inaki Williams, Antoine Semenyo, Jordan Ayew, Ernest Nuamah, Osman Bukari, Joseph Painstil and so on.

Medeama SC striker Jonathan Sowah earns a debut call-up. The former Danbort FC forward scored 12 goals in 20 games to propel Medeama to their maiden betPawa Premier League title last season.

Also in the squad are Elisha Owusu and Baba Iddrisu who make a return to the squad after recovering from injuries. Baba Iddrisu missed the FIFA World Cup in Qatar while Elisha Owusu who picked up an injury in February, has yet to play for Ghana since the FIFA World Cup finals in November last year.

Arsenal ace Thomas Partey is left out of the squad due to injury. According to his club, the player picked up an injury in training and could be on the sidelines for a while, however the Black Stars medical teams is monitoring the situation.

Majeed Ashimeru, Joseph Wollacott and Daniel Amartey also miss out on the squad due to injuries, while South Africa based goalkeeper Richard Ofori returns to the team for the first time since September 2022.

Ghana will host Central Africa Republic in their final Group E game at the Baba Yara Sports stadium on Thursday, September 7, 2023.

The squad:


Lawrence Ati-Zigi, Abdul Manaf Nurudeen, Richard Ofori


Alidu Seidu, Kingsley Schindler, Stephan Ambrosius, Joseph Aidoo, Alexander Djiku, Nicholas Opoku, Baba Abdul Rahman, Gideon Mensah


Abdul Samed Salis, Baba Iddissu, Andre Ayew, Elisha Owusu, Edmund Addo, Mohammed Kudus, Ransford Koningsdorffer


Inaki Williams, Antoine Semenyo, Jordan Ayew, Ernest Nuamah, Osman Bukari, Joseph Painstil, Jonathan Sowah

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *