2022 Division One League Super Cup: Which teams will be involved in? When and where will it be held?

Posted by

All roads leads to the second edition and the 2022 Division One League Super Cup.

What’s the Division One Super Cup?

The Division One Super Cup was created by the Ghana Football Association (GFA) in 2021.

The Super Cup is for winners of each zone, second placed teams in each zone and two of the third best placed teams at the end of the season.

The reason for the competition is to give clubs more games outside the League by adding to the limited number of games that are played in the course of the season and as well serve as a preparatory ground for the clubs ahead of a new season.

The first edition was won by Zone Two side Skyy after beating Tema Youth on penalties.

Which teams will participate this season?

  • Nsoatreman (Winners of Zone One)
  • Samartex (Winners of Zone Two)
  • Kotoku Royals (Winners of Zone Three)
  • Tamale City (Second placed in Zone One)
  • Ebusua Dwarfs (Second placed in Zone Two)
  • Liberty Professionals (Second placed in Zone Three)
  • Tema Youth (Best third placed team)
  • Young Apostles (Second third placed team)

Where and when is the competition?

The competition will be played in the Eastern Region from Friday, September 16 to Monday, September 26, 2022.

Prize Money

The prize money for this year’s edition of the Division One League Super Cup hasn’t official been revealed by the Ghana FA.

However in the first edition of the competition, winners Skyy FC received GHC 15,000 and 30 gold medals. Second placed Tema Youth received GHC 8,000 and 30 silver medals and third placed Accra Lions received GHC 5,000 and 30 bronze medals.

When is the 2022 Division One League starting?

The new Division One League season will kick off on the weekend of Friday, September 30 to Monday, October 3, 2022 across the three Zones.

The fixtures for the season is scheduled to be released on or before Tuesday, August 9, 2022.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *