2021 AFCON: No room for Issa Kabore, Liverpool duo lead attack as CAF names team of the tournament

Posted by

The Technical study team of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced the best eleven at the just ended African Cup of Nations (AFCON).

At the end of what was a fascinating competition, Senegal were third time lucky, winning the trophy for the first time in their history after losing in the finals of the 2002 and 2019 editions.

The Teranga Lions won the trophy after beating record winners Egypt 4-2 on penalty shootouts after a scoreless game.

In post for the team of the tournament is Senegal and Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy who was named goalkeeper of the tournament.

Despite Morocco’s failure to advance deep into the competition, Achraf Hakimi occupies the right back position. He’s joined in the back four by Senegal’s Saliou Ciss, Egypt’s Mohammed AbdelMoneim and Burkina Faso’s Edmond Tapsoba.

The midfield is occupied by Egypt’s Mohammed Elneny, Senegal’s Nampalys Mendy and Burkina Faso’s Ibrahim Blati Toure.

In attack is Egypt’s talisman Mohammed Salah, tournament’s best player Sadio Mane and top scorer Vincent Aboubakar.

Below is the full team:


Edouard Mendy (Senegal)


Achraf Hakimi (Morocco)

Saliou Ciss (Senegal)

Mohammed AbdelMoneim (Egypt)

Edmond Tapsoba (Burkina Faso)


Nampalys Mendy (Senegal)

Mohammed Elneny (Egypt)

Ibrahim Blati Toure (Burkina Faso)


Mohammed Salah (Egypt)

Sadio Mane (Senegal)

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon)

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.